Skip to content

Kelly Kroener @ RE Gallery

March 7, 2013

GROUNDWORK | Kelly Kroener

Posted on March 3, 2013
RE gallery + studio is pleased to invite you to Kelly Kroener’s first solo exhibition titled “Groundwork”.  We will be hosting an opening reception for the artist Friday, March 8th from 6-9 pm, with an additional viewing/talk Sunday, March 24th from 6-7 pm, and a closing reception Friday, April 5th, from 6-9 pm. RE gallery + studio is located at 1717 Gould Street, Dallas, TX 75215. The gallery is open on Thursday, Saturday and Sunday from 11-5 and by appointment. For information contact Wanda Dye at info@regallerystudio.com or at 972-974-3004.
Artist Statement:
Groundwork is an exploration of my own nature and sensibility as a creator. I remember reading once that “If something is to be beautiful, it must be true to its own nature.” This statement has remained with me since reading it long ago. For this group of work I was fortunate enough to experiment with color more playfully than I ever have before. By having large amounts of color, heavy muslin and sand around my studio I’ve been able to challenge my hands and prod my understanding of these simple elements. I prefer to use textiles in my work because of their familiarity during my studies in fashion and fiber. Through diligent practice I learned how to manipulate and drape pieces of fabric on forms and walls. It was not as clear to me then, as it is now, that I have a particular way of making and creating. Upon finding a fabric I enjoy, I begin to inherently seek out what it is best at doing. With much of the fabric in “Groundwork”, I found that it worked best when loosely constructed with soft curves and right angles, responding to gravity, geometry, and dimension. Color, an integral and important part of the process, responded to, as well as informed shape and line. Through this work I am also moving towards realizing a dream, which is to make artwork that is honest and meaningful to others. Excellence is rarely found where due practice and deep knowledge of fundamentals is lacking. If I am ever to excel past the intermediate term of art making, I know that it is integral for me to understand my intrinsic approaches towards mediums and in practice. Therefore in this series, I am working and revisiting some simple elements that I perhaps knew, but didn’t understand initially. I love and am thankful for these pieces, which have helped me understand and embrace aspects of myself that were not evident to me before.
Artist Bio:
Born in Cincinnati Ohio, Kelly grew up in a rural setting to working class parents. Horseback riding and drawing were the primary activities that engaged her time spent there. Upon moving to Chicago to attend the School of the Art Institute, she studied fashion and sculpture. During her studies at SAIC she found a community of artists who took strong initiative to find their own ways of making progress and realizing goals. It was also here that she discovered how working in artist groups can help drive the creative spirit of many. Upon graduation Kelly moved to Baltimore where she began a focused studio practice while teaching at risk youth for a local non-profit. The material vocabulary and personal praxis she discovered there, has been the source from which much of her work has matured. Now in Dallas she is an active participant in the arts scene and a member of the arts group S.C.A.B. In 2011 she co-founded Homeland Security Gallery in the Cedars neighborhood with her partner Eli Walker. In this domestic gallery they seek to expose Dallas to new artists in the humble setting of a home.  It is a set goal of hers to be a vital and formative asset of Dallas’s cultural environment as well as contributing meaningful work to the world-view of artistic innovation.
From → News

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

